Thursday, July 3, 2008

The Looking Glass Wars by Frank Beddor

The Looking Glass Wars by Frank Beddor was originally published in 2006.  It fits into the Fantasy genre and is recommended for readers ages 10 and up.

The Looking Glass Wars beings in Oxford England in July of 1863 and “Alice in Wonderland” was just published.  Alyss Heart had told the story of her life to a friend she thought she could trust and he twisted the story all around making it sound like a silly children’s story instead of something real, scary, and tragic that happened to her.  Alyss had told other people the story but no one had believed her and the farfetched story by Lewis Carroll only made her feel like more of a fool and she began to wonder if her life in Wonderland actually happened.  From this beginning Beddor shoots off of Carroll’s story and tells his own version of Wonderland where things are not only more exciting but more captivating as well.  Princess Alyss Heart is the heir to the throne of the queendom in Wonderland her parents were killed by her jealous Aunt Redd and Alyss and her bodyguard Hatter Madigan must flee to save themselves from Redd’s assassin the Cat.  They get separated along the way and Alyss gets adopted into a family in England.  In the end Alyss finds her way back to Wonderland to take her place as the rightful heir to the throne from her wicked Aunt Redd.  Overall it was a great book and I can’t wait to read the rest of the trilogy.

Other Reviews Available:

Seeing Redd by Frank Beddor

1 comment:

  1. Many thanks for your enthusiastic leap into the Pool of Tears assisting Princess Alyss and Royal Bodyguard Hatter Madigan with their harrowing adventures into pop culture.

    We would like to share with you new revelations from Wonderland as they come into the Looking Glass Wars Library and Hatter M Institute. If you’re interested in receiving this confidential material, before it becomes public, please supply a secure email address.

    The LGW Librarian